Regional First Home Buyer Guarantee

Supporting eligible regional home buyers to buy a home sooner, in a regional area.

Guarantee overview


Minimum deposit required

10,000 places

Available for FY2024-25

Individual and joint applicants
Maximum purchase prices apply

The Regional First Home Buyer Guarantee (RFHBG) is part of the Home Guarantee Scheme (HGS), an Australian Government initiative to support eligible home buyers to buy a home sooner. It is administered by Housing Australia on behalf of the Australian Government.  

The RFHBG aims to support eligible regional home buyers to buy a home sooner, in a regional area. From 1 July 2024 – 30 June 2025, 10,000 RFHBG places are available. 

Under the RFHBG, part of an eligible regional home buyer’s home loan from a Participating Lender is guaranteed by Housing Australia. This enables an eligible home buyer to purchase a home with as little as 5% deposit without paying Lenders Mortgage Insurance. 

For the RFHBG, any Guarantee of a home loan is for up to a maximum amount of 15% of the value of the property (as assessed by the Participating Lender). This Guarantee is not a cash payment or a deposit for a home loan.  Eligibility criteria apply.

  • Please note the relevant Notice of Assessment (NOA) that your lender will require to validate your eligibility for a HGS Guarantee.
    • For reservation for a Scheme Place made by a Participating Lender on or before 30 June 2024, the 2022-23 NOA will be required. A Guarantee can be issued (and settlement occur after this date, subject to all other criteria being met).
    • For reservations for a Scheme Place made by a Participating Lender on or after 1 July 2024, the 2023-24 NOA will be required. A Participating Lender can provide a 90 day expiry period whilst the NOA is being obtained however will be required prior to any Guarantee being issued and settlement occurring.

Eligibility criteria

To apply for the RFHBG, home buyers must be:  

  • applying as an individual or two joint applicants  
  • an Australian citizen(s) or permanent resident(s)* at the time they enter the loan
  • at least 18 years of age
  • earning up to $125,000 for individuals or $200,000 for joint applicants, as shown on the Notice of Assessment (issued by the Australian Taxation Office) 
  • intending to be owner-occupiers of the purchased property  
  • home buyers who have not previously owned, or had an interest in, a real property in Australia (this includes owning land only) or in the ten years prior to the date they execute their home loan. 

Access the Eligibility Tool – a short questionnaire to help home buyers determine which Guarantee/s they may be eligible for. 

Contact a Participating Lender for more information, including the full list of eligibility criteria. 

What is a regional area?

A regional area is defined as: 

  • the Statistical Area Level 4 (ASGS SA4 2016) areas in a State or the Northern Territory that are not a capital city of that State or Territory; and 
  • Norfolk Island; or the Territories of Jervis Bay, Christmas Island or Cocos (Keeling) Islands; as defined in the version published by The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) in July 2016. 
  • The greater capital city areas of each state and the Northern Territory; and the entire Australian Capital Territory are excluded from the RFHBG. Home buyers in these areas may be eligible for the First Home Guarantee or Family Home Guarantee. 

Access the Regional Checker –  home buyers can enter the suburb (or postcode) of their current home and the suburb (or postcode) they would like to purchase in, to confirm if they would be eligible for the RFHBG.  

Deposit required

Home buyers applying for the RFHBG need to have between 5% and 20% of the value of an eligible property saved as a deposit. The minimum deposit required for the RFHBG is 5%, but Participating Lenders may require a higher percentage deposit based on individual financial circumstances.* 

Home buyers should speak with a Participating Lender to find out whether a deposit is made up of genuine savings for the purposes of their lending criteria and the RFHBG. 

Home buyers should confirm with their Participating Lender whether any cash grants received under other Australian Government, State or Territory schemes or programs can be considered as part of their genuine savings.

Contact a Participating Lender for more information and to discuss individual circumstances. 

*Eligible home buyers are responsible for meeting all costs and repayments for home loans associated with the Home Guarantee Scheme including but not limited to stamp duty, application fee and legal costs. 

Property types and price caps

Under the HGS, home buyers can buy a residential property, including: 

  • an existing house, townhouse or apartment 
  • a house and land package 
  • land and a separate contract to build a home 
  • an off-the-plan apartment or townhouse. 

Use the Property Price Cap Tool to look up the property price caps for each location. 

Specific timeframes and criteria apply to the different property types. The contract of sale and (if applicable) eligible building contract may need to be executed by specific dates.

Contact a Participating Lender for more information, including which regional areas you may be able to purchase in.  

How to apply

HGS applications can only be made with a Participating Lender or their authorised representative (a mortgage broker). Housing Australia does not accept HGS applications or provide personal financial advice. 

Home buyers (and those advising them) should consider consulting a Participating Lender and seeking independent financial and legal advice about whether a particular home loan or property, and the terms of the HGS suit personal circumstances and objectives.  

Before entering into a home loan agreement, home buyers should consider talking with their lender (or broker) about the potential implications of changing interest rates or house prices on individual circumstances. 

Participating Lenders

Housing Australia has authorised a panel of Participating Lenders to offer the HGS to home buyers.

Notice of Assessment (NOA)

The HGS includes an income test, which is assessed by lenders using a Notice of Assessment (NOA). 

Once a tax return has been processed, the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) sends a statement called the Notice of Assessment to the taxpayer’s myGov Inbox

For HGS reservations made from 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025, the relevant Notice of Assessment is the 2023-2024 financial year. Housing Australia advises applicants to speak to their Participating Lender to understand the risk of signing a Contract of Sale prior to obtaining the latest Notice of Assessment.

In any other circumstances, where you cannot produce a Notice of Assessment (for example, you have been working overseas), please contact your Participating Lender for advice on other documentation it may accept as evidence of your income. 

Need help?

Questions or queries

Please contact a Participating Lender if you have questions or would like to apply for a Scheme place. Housing Australia does not accept, assess, approve or maintain waitlists for any Scheme place applications.

If your question is not resolved, contact Housing Australia.

Frequently Asked Questions

Search the Frequently Asked Questions database for general information about the Home Guarantee Scheme.